We will begin accepting applications for the 2021-2022 school year in January 2021. The deadline will be March 1, 2021 at 5:00 p.m


Any high school senior whose parent or legal guardian subscribes to SCTelcom local telephone service or the son, daughter, or legal dependent of a subscriber who resides in one of the following exchanges: 239, 247, 248, 294, 497, 546, 825, 431 or 474.


The application must include the following items to be considered complete.

  • High School transcripts
  • ACT or SAT scores
  • List of all high school extra-curricular activities
  • Two letters of recommendation–one from your current school administrator and one from anyone else you believe knows you well
  • A brief statement relating how this scholarship would benefit you and why you have chosen your current field of study
  • A wallet-size senior picture to be used for publicity purposes

Award Selection Process

A scholarship committee consisting of the Director who has been named the Scholarship Chairman and a SCTelcom employee will review the applications and select the seven winners. The winners will be announced at the annual meeting in April 2021. Scholarship awards will be issued directly to the college in two payments, one each semester with proof of enrollment.

Completed applications must be received at one of our business offices in Medicine Lodge, Kiowa, or Harper on or before 5:00 p.m., March 1, 2021. Incomplete or late applications will be disqualified.

Hard copy applications can be emailed, mailed or dropped off at any SCTelcom location.

Email completed application to:

Mail completed application to:
South Central Telephone Association, Inc.
Attn: Scholarship Committee
P.O. Drawer B
Medicine Lodge, KS 67104

Foundation For Rural Services

Foundation For Rural Services

The foundation annually awards scholarships to an exceptional group of rural students for their first year of college or vocational school. All applicants require sponsorship by an NTCA—The Rural Broadband Association member company to be eligible.

FRS has awarded over $1 million in scholarships since its inception; empowering rural students throughout the country to advance their communities with invaluable skill sets and experiences.

The 2021 Scholarship Program will open in the fall.

James L. Bass Legal Scholarship

The Foundation for Rural Service (FRS) announced the James L. Bass Legal Scholarship, a new scholarship for students with an interest in rural
communities entering their first year of law school. FRS is the philanthropic arm of NTCA–The Rural Broadband Association, of which SCTelcom is a member.

Last Year’s Winners

Abigail Geesling

Plans to attend Fort Hays State University and major in Tourism & Hospitality Management

Aden Rausch

Plans to attend Kansas State University and major in Construction Science and Management

Brayden Schmidt

Plans to attend Wichita State University and major in Electrical Engineering

Hailey Dotson

Plans to attend Oklahoma State University and major in Ag Communication/Ag Business

Kutter Jewell

Plans to attend Oklahoma State University and major in Construction Engineering Technology

Lauren Lagos

Plans to attend Northwestern State University and major in Nursing

Takira Blick

Plans to attend Fort Hays State University and major in Accounting

Apply Today

Thank you for participating in our scholarship program. It’s an important way we give back to the community that’s made us who we are.